28 November 2007

The Special One

At the end of the day whether it be Inter or England, we all know his next job is going to piss off Josh.

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=485639&root=england&cc=5901&lpos=spotlight&lid=tab1pos1

23 November 2007

FANTASYSHIP - transactions

also:
------------------------
sim drops newcastle and adds udinese as a main team.
c+c drop rooney to make room on IR, put robin v. persie back on (it's been over a week), and add sergio aguero as his replacement.
------------------------

22 November 2007

FANTASYSHIP - transactions

Mercifully, the Fantasyship is back this week. In advance of that, there's a couple moves to let you know about:
---------------------------------
josh and jess drop mutu and add carlos tevez as their second striker.
c+c drop werder bremen in favor of fenerbahce as their bonus team.
---------------------------------

game on.

21 November 2007

Predictions for England-Croatia

ok... and hour and a half left. what do you think's gonna happen?

i vote 1-1. croatia score first, which wakes england up and they get the equalizer, then the game peters out around the 70th minute. england qualify.

anyone?

20 November 2007

Reason #34872 why Footy Rules...

Gennaro Gattuso's comments after beating scotland to book their place at Euro 2008:

“I am proud of the qualification we have achieved with this squad,” said the midfielder after Italy’s 2-1 win in Glasgow. But I am really annoyed because I know we also helped France to go through.

Gattuso spent a year at Glasgow Rangers at the start of his career and married a local girl, but even stronger than his love for the country is his dislike of Les Bleus.

“Raymond Domenech is always being such a pain and he really did not deserve to reach the finals.

“Now I hope to meet France at Euro 2008 so we can teach them all a lesson.

Spectacular.

++colazo

17 November 2007

The Lord is with England

There is no other way to explain how Israel beat Russia today.

15 November 2007

Serie A UPDATE

So apparently, serie a will be resuming after the international break as scheduled, and has rescheduled the two postponed matches for 5 december (as best i can tell milan-atalanta will be completed at that later date as well).

This means that after all that, what we're basically left with is three postponed games. Since postponed games happen from time to time (usually because of weather or scheduling conflicts, but still). You can never plan on it and it always costs you chances (though you get them back in the long term), so we're forced to pretty much consider it a fact of life in the fantasyship and get over it. Moral implications aside, there's no reason to consider this any different.

So this means that, very simply, the book will close on this week as is, and the missed chances will be made up in early december.

If there's any issues with going this route, just drop me an email or give a call.

Game on when this last blasted int'l break is over, at least!

12 November 2007

Freeking Serie A...

I was hoping we wouldn't have to deal with this this season, but here we are: So as you may or may not know, there has been another violent incident involving italian soccer fans which has led to the suspension of serie a games.

The story.

I'm still hopeful that this ends up causing no more disturbances in the serie a schedule, but we'll likely have to wait a couple more days before we know for sure. In the meantime, here's what i can say for sure:

1. all finished results are recorded and will count. The only possible exception here is ac milan-atalanta, which was abandoned at 0-0 in the 8th minute. we'll address that as we learn more also.

2. the most likely scenarios are one of these:
a. we consider this weeks fantasy matches complete, and owners of affected teams/players will lose their chance this week and enjoy the extra chance when the make-up games are scheduled.

b. whenever the affected teams/players play next, that score is recorded for that week as well as applied to this week IN PLACE OF the missed game.

i'll keep you posted. feel free to discuss.

++c

09 November 2007

Our loss could be your gain...

So CS United is in a bind... apparently, rooney is now going to be out for four weeks with an ankle knock (that'd be the 4th striker we've lost to injury already this season if you're keeping score at home...).

We've already used our add/drop for the first half of the month, and our IR spot is already full, so we're stuck.

Here's how you take advantage:
1. make us an offer, perhaps some guy that you're considering dropping anyway.
2. you get rooney and his 70% conversion rate and immediately stash him on your IR and pick up a healthy replacement. roo should be back right about when he would come off IR. perfect.

you get a long-term upgrade, we get a warm body. interested? make me an offer!

colazo

07 November 2007

King Ibra

Amidst all this smack talk about Liverpool and Celtic........ I needed to take a pause and relish in some goals today that continually prove that Inter Milan is the best team in Europe. Don't believe me? Watch just 2 goals by the legendary Zlatan of Inter and it will send a non-verbal "sitdown" right into your lap (also enjoy accessing the arabic version of youtube!)

http://www.d1g.com/video/show/1512841

http://www.d1g.com/video/show/1513018

06 November 2007

The Face of Destruction

Liverpool 8 - Besiktas 0 FINAL

Very Mediocre.

Let me reiterate

Group A

1. Marseille 7
2. FC Porto 5
3. Besiktas 3
4. LIVERPOOL 1

FA Premiership

1. Arsenal 27
2. Man Utd 27
3. Man City 25
4. Chelsea 24
5. Portsmouth 22
6. Blackburn 22
7. LIVERPOOL 21

OoOoOoOo yeah

The Face of Over Confidence

2007/08 First Phase Group D Standings


1. AC Milan 6
2. Shakhtar Donetsk 6
3. Benefica 3
4. Celtic 3

Yes...... that is Celtic on the bottom of their group.

Or maybe this should be titled 'The Face of Sucking ASS! Hope Freddy Adu doesn't score too many on you this week.

The face of mediocrity


What have you done for me lately?
OoOoOoOo yeah

02 November 2007

fantasyship - transaction

c+c have dropped sergio aguero and added luis fabiano of sevilla.

Nothing Quenches the Rush of Playing at Anfield

ESPN Soccernet Nov. 2, 2007

Baros sets record for speeding in Ferrari

LYON, Nov 2 (Reuters) - Olympique Lyon's Czech forward Milan Baros was caught speeding at 271 kph in his Ferrari, a club source confirmed on Friday.

Local newspaper Le Progres quoted police as saying the former Liverpool player had broken the record for speeding for that French region, set by a motorcyclist who reached 248 kph in 2000.

Baros was driving on a motorway not far from Lyon on Thursday when he was caught by French police, who confiscated the black Ferrari and took his driving licence.

The 26-year-old, sidelined by an injury, had to take a taxi back to Lyon. He faces a heavy fine and a three-year driving ban.

**I like the fact that part of the punishment was making him take a taxi home. Hilarious.