12 November 2007

Freeking Serie A...

I was hoping we wouldn't have to deal with this this season, but here we are: So as you may or may not know, there has been another violent incident involving italian soccer fans which has led to the suspension of serie a games.

The story.

I'm still hopeful that this ends up causing no more disturbances in the serie a schedule, but we'll likely have to wait a couple more days before we know for sure. In the meantime, here's what i can say for sure:

1. all finished results are recorded and will count. The only possible exception here is ac milan-atalanta, which was abandoned at 0-0 in the 8th minute. we'll address that as we learn more also.

2. the most likely scenarios are one of these:
a. we consider this weeks fantasy matches complete, and owners of affected teams/players will lose their chance this week and enjoy the extra chance when the make-up games are scheduled.

b. whenever the affected teams/players play next, that score is recorded for that week as well as applied to this week IN PLACE OF the missed game.

i'll keep you posted. feel free to discuss.

++c

6 comments:

Inter Bunkwad said...

I doubt this affects anyone as much as us with 2 strikers and Inter Milan...

I think alot of this is going to depend on how long of a break we are talking about. If it is long, there has to be a way for us to make up points in the meantime or retroactively count goals for this week when the games are played. I hate any long term scenario, as it defeats the fun of the week to week game. Serie A is retarded.

Inter Bunkwad said...

And I think we should exclude Serie A next season, so we don't have to keep dealing with this issue.

cole said...

bundesliga here we come!

Inter Bunkwad said...

Although that would be ghetto, I have to agree.

Josh said...

As lame as Italy is right now........ Bundesliga would be really lame. You have to admit at the end of the day you'd rather watch top flight Serie A over Stuttgart v. Hamburg.

What the F is wrong with Italy?!? There is so much weird crap that goes on over there.

Inter Bunkwad said...

That's easy, they're Italians.